All About Perspectives

A couple of weeks back, while scouring the internet for cute dog videos (because dogs are love-deal with it) I happened to land on a page that described Nietzsche’s theory of perspectivism.
Don’t even get me started on how that escalated.

Now I have read bits and pieces of his philosophies, but never felt like ‘delving deep’ into the ideas he propagated. Philosophers and too much philosophy can mess with your mind.

So after I devoured the Wikipedia page enough to satiate my mind, I felt a certain sense of ..pride? Let me elucidate the point I’m trying to make by using (Hermione’s) my time turner and taking you back to the year 2014.

I’m a firm believer in perspectives. I feel that people never truly tell you information in its true form, but rather their version of it.

home-461279_960_720

Is it a room, a painting, the sky or a building?

Every person has this window of comprehension. The bigger the window, the wider the perspective. Knowledge that we receive is always torn, bent, twisted, interpreted and distorted by the mind that delivers it. It’s never really ..pure.

This is what I have been believing since the last three years. And now that I found there’s an actual theory justifying and claiming the same thing is unreal! I mean the fact that a small, private and less discussed principle I’ve withheld and believed in for so long resonates with an actual philosophy from, what history calls, one of the greatest philosophers of all time – Nietzsche, is surreal! I think I should be allowed to have a fleeting, teeny-tiny moment of pride?

But if you apply this theory to every piece of information you’ve ever received, it can seem a little scary.

Whatever news you watch on the television, is a version and interpretation of the journalists and the writers, apart from factual information of course.

Like I read somewhere once,‘How do you know your hero is righteous, if you haven’t heard the story from the villain’s perspective.’

Perspectives and point of views can revamp both the connotation and the core idea behind an event.

The book critic might consider Lord of the Rings to be the greatest work of fantasy but maybe it isn’t? (Psstt ..it is.)

So our opinions are limited to our window (or scope) of perceiving it.

There is no truth, there are only perspectives.

One person’s idea of the ‘right’ kind of behavior might not conform with yours?

This entire blog article right here is also a perspective. Care to refute?


Note- Once upon a time there was this weird, ethereal boy in my class. His hobbies included doodling on tables, minimal human interaction and secretly seeking the meaning of the universe.  We spent two years in Middle school which consisted of him doodling on the table and I admiring it. That was the only human form of interaction he was programmed for.

Then we lost touch and he left the city.(Or maybe he went to another galaxy to fulfill some strange odyssey?) But years later in 2017 and due to some very peculiar turn of events, we met again! And now that he’s capable of having a human like conversation and even telling me about his plans to open a music store, I can safely vouch for the credibility of his blog, that he’s launched very recently.

People of WordPress, please spare some time and visit my very talented friend Yash’s blog. He has phenomenal writing skills and his comic books (that he creates when he’s on Earth for the time being) are a cherry on the cake. He talks of abstract stuff superimposed with a witty sense of humor, creative metaphors and peculiar diagrammatic representations of kebab rolls.

His blog is:

Bipolar Bear

Do visit and leave a review. Both the writer and the blog mean a lot to me.

I’d be grateful.
18 thoughts on “All About Perspectives

  1. Perhaps we could say there are conceptual truths, that is, those that operate in the symbolic realm of mind alone, but objective facts — indeed, the whole notion of objectivity per se — are always susceptible to refutation in some aspect. There is wisdom in Relativism.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting point and I think I would have to agree with your final conclusion wholeheartedly. It is a wonder we find common ground to meet on when you really think about it! And I gave your friends blog a follow and will check it out when I have a bit more time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, my friend, I pondered on this subject a lot in the past and still do. But not all the time, because as you said it yourself, it could be a little scary. How can we say we know the truth? The ultimate example is the existence of a god. Or of God. Christians tell you a version of this God, while Muslims tell you another and Spiritualists another. Which one is true? All of them, because each of either creed has its well-built background to justify it. It’s up to anyone to believe it or not.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You had me at puppies and Nietzsche! As he says “all things are subject to interpretation. Whichever interpretation prevails at a given time is a function of power not truth”. That’s what I love about philosophy, it just takes you out of your bubble and opens you up to the wider, complicated universe. I had a similar experience to you with Jean Jacques Rousseau when I found his theory of negative self love or “amour prope” is basically everything I’ve had issue with in today’s culture for a while. There really are no new ideas. An opinion I formed independently was already put into theory by someone who lived in the 1700s. Lovely read.

    https://onlyindreamssite.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for that extra input. I haven’t read about the philosopher you mentioned since I never had psychology as a subject. Too bad. But now I definitely will. 🙂

      Like

  5. Hey Aakansha, what can one say? Another great post. I visited your friend’s site, and had to click “like” simply because there was no “love” button (something WordPress really needs to get busy with). That youngster has a mind that’s easily as busy as mine ever was, and I’m truly impressed with the way he makes use of it. He drips talent in so many forms I won’t even try to list the ones I spotted in just this first encounter, but I will be going back to see where he goes from there.

    As for you, you keep reading people like Mr.Nietzsche, and you’ll either give YOURSELF a headache, or everyone ELSE a headache as they try and keep up with the smartest person in the room. That’s some pretty deep reading…from any perspective. So I’ll let you go rest now, and we’ll catch you next time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Mr. David. And are you a wizard sir?
      I am actually having a mild headache right now. From different reasons hopefully haha.

      I’ll make sure Yash reads what you wrote. Your comment will make his day. Thank you so much. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sorry to hear about your headache, but no wizardry here (except at those occasional times when I’m acting as my Michael Stormcloude character in “The Elder Scrolls” computer game, versions “Oblivion” or “Skyrim”). Your friend is well deserving of whatever credit he receives, and like yourself, I believe that he too has a bright future as a writer, or a cartoonist, illustrator, comedian, or whatever other path he chooses to walk. As far as I can see at first glance, it sure looks like he’s starting with a full tool-box, and the latent abilities of a future Master Craftsman. You folks are giving me great hopes for the up-and-coming generations, because despite the current troubles facing this world, If you and your friend Yash (and a few others that I’ve been watching), are a reasonable example of what we can expect from those in your peer group, then I’m starting to think we may be passing things into some very capable hands. And THAT…is a very good thing.

        Liked by 2 people

        • I think you deserve a lot of credit for not bluntly disparaging our generation like some of the adults do.

          Your words invoke this sense of responsibility and trust in us and I can’t speak for everyone else, but I’ll surely try my best to live up to it. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

    • I was scrolling down this post to thank Aakansha for giving me a shout out when your comment caught my attention. Pleasantly surprised, I smiled ear to ear after I had finished reading it and sat transfixed for ten whole minutes, overwhelmed with a sense of achievement.
      You see, moments before coming here I had been perusing your blog, sir. The way you’ve raised issues in your posts, issues that matter, is inspiring to me as a student of journalism. I’ve seldom seen citizen journalism practised so well! So all this praise means a lot coming from a person such as yourself.

      All the more reason to say this: Thanks for the shout out Aakansha! Keep a thumb pin handy, you might have to deflate a humongous ego now.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

