Wayward

Only 15 minutes before, I was screaming. 

Now I’m making patterns in the moist, fragrant sand. Some of it is sandwiched between my fingers, slowly oozing out of the gaps as I tighten my grip. Occasionally, I take a quick glance of the ginormous turquoise body of water in front of me.

unnamed

It rises sporadically, antagonized by the frantic wind, it rises and rises until all I see is a huge film of translucent water, racing violently towards me. Until, with a defeated cry, it crashes down, sending cold splashes my way.

I cower a little, to save my shirt from drenching, but all in vain. Drops of salt water drip from my lips. Don’t worry, the sun is warm enough today. In one great leap the wave gulped my pattern and washed it away; leaving trails of sodden sand behind. I scrunch my face. Not fair.

My eyes light up instantly. I remember why I was here in the first place. I remember why I was screaming. Hesitating, I turn around to take a glance.

They’re still fighting.

I shake my head and turn to the waters, ‘Will this ever stop?’ 

Zoning out the sound of the ocean, I hear them having a war of words. They’re yelling and cursing each other. Their voice is rough and beaten. One of them has welled up, the voice has become heavy.

I smile. I know exactly who that is. 

The other, however, won’t be subdued. Like always, it is powerful. It stands tall and condescending. It wants to win. It wants to be right. It is bleeding, it is in pain and somewhere inside, a voice asks it to stop, yet it won’t be appeased. Never will it surrender. It keeps on screaming, until it leaps forward and throttles the other. They stagger, fidget and grapple.

One is going to win today.

The brawl continues and I’m about to scream again when I hear the snap of a neck. I turn around instantly only to witness a scene that sends waves of felicity through me. In a war between my heart and ego, heart stood there, bruised, but victorious.

Solemnly, I take out my cell phone, and I dial the abandoned number.

17 thoughts on “Wayward

      • It was definitely well worth reading. Like I’ve said before, this gift of your’s promises much to advance the world of literature should you decide to continue on the path you appear to have chosen. Only time (and your heart) will tell.

        Liked by 2 people

        • ‘Should you decide to continue on the path you appear to have chosen. ‘

          I wish I could tred this path and more than that I wish I could tell you certain sad truths about my life.
          But your evident belief in me is enough for me to carry on for now.

          You’re the best.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Just try and remember that it takes the good AND the “not so good” to make up the whole cloth of what we finally call our lives, and each one in it’s own way, truly helps us to appreciate the other. There is something in every person’s life that acts as the glue that holds everything together, and we just have to find out what that is for our own lives to be complete. It took me years to find my faith, and whatever YOU seek, you still have lots of time to discover. Enjoy the journey.

            Liked by 2 people

What are your thoughts?

