To the Woods

I hadn’t expected it to be this cold or I would’ve brought the sweatshirt mama bought me last Christmas. For now, I hope my flannels will keep me warm. It is funny how in your last moments, you’re supposed to think about the ones you love, or all of those rare moments when life seemed extraordinary. You’re supposed to be having flashbacks of your favorite birthday parties, or the day you got your first kiss or the day you went to your very first carnival.

I smile, trying desperately hard to light a fire in this dark. I rub two stones together, little sparks lighting up with every strike, ultimately giving birth to a young, warm fire. My eyes reflect the yellow glow they receive and somehow, I don’t feel cold anymore. Rubbing my hands, I take a glimpse of the valley far below. Dark, quiet; like the trees were asleep, unburdening themselves.

Dry leaves crunch and break beneath my worn out shoe. They’re going to be one year old tomorrow. He gave me these when I turned 21. A quiet wind blew through the woods, fanning my young flames. The trees sighed and looked down upon my little figure. A young guy huddled by a tiny fire, smiling on the adventure that lay ahead.

I wonder if I’ll be missed. The son who had it all, but somehow didn’t? The obliging one who went astray? The exchange of a present on his 21st birthday, that changed everything. In one year, I was no more their obliging son. I was, according to them, ‘confused.’

What would’ve happened if they had said yes and we hadn’t run away? Would we be happier? Would our Sunday dinners include him too? Would we be free? Would we be allowed to stand on the altar? The smile on my face fades away, as I watch the dying embers of my fire. What will they think when I’m gone?

Slowly I stand up and wade my way to the forest’s end where lay the bare ground. The part where I could directly face the valley down below; almost hearing the sound of all the lives that slept in it. Do those birds ever have to run away?

I lie down and gaze at the star studded night and catch a glimpse of a falling star. I hear footsteps approaching and somehow my smile comes back.
‘I thought you said you needed dry wood for our fire,’ he says as he lies down next to me.
Holding hands we gaze at the night, thinking of what would happen next.

Somewhere in the distance, a star twinkled a little more brightly.

19 thoughts on “To the Woods

  1. I’m always in awe of the way you describe things. With just a bunch of words oozing so many feelings together.

    This was absolutely beautiful Aakansha.
    You took us there, you took us all there to the forest. Extremely well written.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glad you made it to my blog, as I got to read this piece. Your writing is exquisite. I love the descriptions. You paint an amazing image in my head as I read through.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was so happy when I saw that you had popped by the site the other day (I hardly ever get out any more), and now, after reading this piece, I am even happier that I took the time to stop by here. Your wonderful words tugged at my heart so firmly, they produced a single tear in the corner of my eye.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. Even I came back on WordPress after a very long time. Barely get time to write any more. I’m so glad this moved you like it moved so many other people.
      So many people loved this piece that I’m so glad I wrote it.

      Topics like these need to be talked more of. Thank you for your kind words Mr. David. I hope you’re doing well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

