Understanding an Introvert; Part-II

A year back, I happened to write a post on introversion, and so far it has been my most read and shared blog post. In case you’re new to my blog, you can read it here. I thought about writing a part-II for it, mostly because I tend to harbor strong views on this tragically ignored crisis.

I always find a sense of solidarity with anyone who is reticent and quiet. Not because they’re missing out on fun or anything, but because I understand how hard it is to be silent in the constant hubbub and buzz around you. When the whole world is ‘trying to get their voice out there.’ Everyone trying to out-scream the other, making sure the spotlight is on them. Finding a guilty pleasure in being the life of the party.

People see you differently, don’t they? Somehow, you’re always branded by an adjective. Quiet, rude, arrogant, supercilious these are mere examples. I’m qualified to say all this because I go through all this every time I enter a new domain.

I sit back and have a habit of astutely observing people, hence forming a brief profile and calculating who’s the best candidate to talk with. Of course these profiles are not permanent, they improve or degrade as and when I decipher a human. Yes, decipher.

From what I’ve noted, most of the introverts are brilliant judges of character. Not because they are mystics or augurs, but because they listen more. If you tend to listen and notice, not just their gibberish but also their body language, you are already way past their locked doors, deep within their private domain which they prefer to keep hidden. And very soon you have a brief idea of their character without them knowing it. It’s more like a super-power.

Being an introvert, may sound vapid initially, but it’s the exact contrary. Like the ocean they appear all calm and composed on the surface, but inside their mind, their is a different world entirely.

There are wars going on in one corner, deductions and conclusions in the other, a story being dictated simultaneously in the background, questions and graphs calculating the complexities of the world, pictures of people they love stuck haphazardly on the wall, scribbled and re-written letters to someone unknown, a revolution of thoughts taking place against another set of thoughts, bundles of paper loaded with heavy thoughts they can never voice out, clusters of other people’s minds they found difficult to unravel, always formulating plans on how to observe things differently, confessions, observations, questions, love, heartbreak, family, their imaginary friends, and that voice! The one voice that always talks to them. Like their own version of Siri, it’s always counselling them. It is always helping them form an opinion, it is very confident in its decisions and somehow works as their alter ego. 

Remember, introverts are not shy, they are just not comfortable in taking the first step towards socializing. We do love our own company and would never hesitate in spending time alone. But understand, once you do manage to lower an introvert’s defenses, they will talk about almost everything and anything. From the most mundane to the most extravagant affair. You’ll be surprised at all the opinions they have over the smallest of things.

You’ll awe at the amount of activity going on in them. Like a whole universe trapped inside one mind. So much to listen and learn, like a riddle that gives you a sense of satisfaction once you start solving it.

It’ll be hard at first, but if you manage to understand their mind, you’ll be treading on an adventure. It won’t be easy of course, every adventure has its hitches, but I assure you, it’ll be worth it. You just have to be brave enough and set aside your ego, make them sit and allow them to talk. It’ll be slow and reluctant initially, but once they’re open, you better put your seat-belts on.

All it really takes is the right person to open the doors to an introvert’s mind.

And you thought being an Introvert was easy?

19 thoughts on “Understanding an Introvert; Part-II

  1. Aakansha, I read both the articles and I appreciate the way you have described introverts. All the points were at target however just happened to observed in your previous post that you mentioned other people as normal people. Does that mean introverts are no normal people? Would like to know your thoughts on this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ” pictures of people they love stuck haphazardly on the wall, scribbled and re-written letters to someone unknown, a revolution of thoughts taking place against another set of thoughts”
    I loved that paragraph

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Reblogged this on The World Past Me and commented:
    Most of the times, introverts are not those people who are rude and arrogant and reticent. Sometimes, they are just people who are shy to take the first step.
    We aren’t the dumb ones unable to string two words together. We are those whose minds are buzzing with ideas and thoughts and to-do lists.
    Read this article by this vivacious introvert who goes by the same name, Aakansha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really liked this post. You clearly defined something that describes me. My whole life I have been labelled as ‘shy’ but in actuality I feel I am an introvert. I’d rather be home listening to music or reading than going to some noisy and crowded bar most of the time. Not all the time, but most of the time that is what I really yearn for. Great job on this post!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Aakansha for such a thought provoking post. It is very true, especially when you get me started on a topic I enjoy, I don’t stop (though my wife has taught me how to stop before people start looking at their watches lol). But it explains a lot. Awkwardness at parties is actually about initiating conversation, not taking part in it

        Liked by 1 person

          • Aww that is very sweet. I like to think I have always been honest, but almost everything else about me has been a battle through 47 years of life. I think I said this to you (if I didn’t, I apologize for I have been commenting on so many blogs and talking to bloggers recently) but it took me writing a blog to really open up in a lot of ways. People, including my wife were always aware that I was keeping a lot inside of me. Not bad stuff, just things that I never talked about, emotions and fears, loneliness, sadness. The writing has helped me purge most of it. Writing about the loneliness was almost easier than writing about an accident I was in years ago that still can make me emotional. So finding forums like your wonderful blog and beautiful words is a real treat. Sorry for the topic drift, but you are very wise my friend.

            Liked by 1 person

            • This just gets my senses tingling Robert. I too took to writing to release my torrential emotions which I otherwise kept bottled inside or penned them in my journal. But blogging too, just like you and many other bloggers has been a therapy for me. I’ve felt strangely comfortable and more understood here, in the welcoming vicinity of my blog. And seamlessly blessed I am to have found great friends here too and I’m so happy that I can actually call them friends rather than a virtual image for almost all of them through their writing or personal emails have made an impact on me.

              And sometimes these circumstances also make me wonder that how amazing it must be to have a genuine friend on the other side of the world, and more importantly how wonderful that person should be to even leave that kind of an impression.

              I’m happy you have found your solace here. May you find it everywhere else you go. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              • Wow, so beautifully put and it is exactly as I feel too. This place has given me much solace as you say particularly in the last few months when I briefly entertained stopping my blog. Instead I started following more blogs and took a blogging course which brought me into contact with even more bloggers whom I now actually consider friends and who all make me comfortable. As are you. I follow you on Twitter so feel free to find me on the other social media on my blog 🙂

                And I wish you nothing but happiness and look forward to reading so much more from you 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

  5. “I sit back and have a habit of astutely observing people,hence forming a brief profile and calculating….” This line is soooo true.:D. Can’t ask for anything better than this on Introverts. Every extrovert should read this.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

