Advice to the Past

I’m sure there are plenty of things in our life we now think differently about than how we did in our budding years. Each day and each hour brings with it a new lesson; some we learn, some we choose to ignore.
Unfortunately, the latter happens more in proportion to the former when we are young, ingenuous and whimsical.

So while taking a stroll tonight, I wondered what would I say if my 15 year old self came in front me. Here are a few things I could garner-

1) Your parents are the only people on Earth who love you unconditionally. No other energy in this world loves you more than them-remember that.

2) School maybe tough, but it is nothing compared to the struggles awaiting after you finish it and step in the real world. So buckle up!

3) Forgive people. Don’t punish them for one mistake forever. A strong bond is more important than momentary pride.

4) Don’t get so mad at small little things. More importantly, don’t get mad at yourself.

5) Be wise. Grow above the small things that try to drag you down. Don’t fret over stuff that won’t matter in a few years.

6) Concentrate on your studies and choose your stream wisely.

7) Always appreciate the little things in life. Because after a while you’ll realize those were all the big things.

8) Your school will always be a happy place. Cherish your time there before it becomes a memory.

9) Don’t waste your time on trivial things. Chalk out a plan, understand why things work the way they do.

10) Never be afraid of anything. No kind of judgement or hurdle should ever deter your spirit from soaring high in the clouds.

11) Learn from other people’s experiences and mistakes so that you don’t have to make them all yourself.

12) There is so much more to you than you give yourself credit for. Look closely.

13) Listen to your brother. He loves you but has a different way of showing it. He wants nothing but happiness for you.

14) Stay humble to everyone.

15) Understand your forte and work relentlessly on them. Nurture your hobbies and improve them.

16) Be aware of everything going on around you. Stay updated and vigilante.

17) Don’t act impulsively, think things through, analyze, deduce and then react.

18) Lastly, never lose hope. Things will get better, they always do.

This is a brief congregation of what I learnt in the past 19 years. I hope it helps someone someday.

15 thoughts on “Advice to the Past

  1. Girl! All I can say is well said! These are the same things I’ld say to fifteen year old me, plus, “just because everyone is doing it, doesn’t mean you have to” ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Pingback: Awards and Answers Part…Itโ€™s Starting to Sound Obnoxious No | Finding my Opti in this mist (Geddit?)

  3. It’s been said that “man can live about forty days without food, about three days without water, about eight minutes without air, but only one second without hope.”

    Hope is very important, for without hope, would we get anything accomplished?
    Would I go to work each day if I didn’t hope I’d get pay to support myself?
    Would I go to school if I didn’t have hope that it’d fill my life with more opportunities?
    Would I choose to join the military and fight for my country if I didn’t have hope in where my country was headed?
    Would I get married if I didn’t have hope of a beautiful marriage?

    The list goes on. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I visited your blog because I thought you hadn’t posted in a while and wanted to check in and make sure things were okay and all, but I see you’ve been posting and I’ve just forgotten to read your posts. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • This thought could make someone who’s given up on life gleam with hope for the future. How wonderful!

      And thank you so much Rach. I feel privileged that you took the time to visit my blog to see if everything was okay. That’s why I love the wordpress community. It’s like a virtual family. ๐Ÿ˜€

      And how is Stephen? We haven’t been in touch lately. Could you please tell him to check his mail? He seems to have forgotten he has a friend in India. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can only hope – I’d love to inspire someone to keep pressing on. ๐Ÿ™‚ As the lyrics of the song “I’ll Keep On” by NF go, “Oh these hands are tired, oh this heart is tired, oh this soul is tired, but I’ll keep on, I’ll keep on, I’ll keep on.”

        Of course! I’m afraid I can’t keep track very well of all the bloggers I follow, but I enjoy your posts so you’re easy to remember. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope all is well!

        Stephen is doing well. I told him to check his email. I apologize if he hasn’t answered you for a while. I will say we’ve been quite busy here with college prep and all. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

