2015!

It didn’t really mean anything to me; New Year. I never quite understood the thrill and the excitement people had just because we were changing our calendars. Of course I don’t have anything against the people who celebrate, it’s just that I have never really had a ‘Oh let’s party-IT’S NEW YEAR’ kind of a New Year. And honestly, even though every 31st of December, 12:00 p.m makes me immensely sad, I don’t mind it; sitting alone in my room in the quiet of the night.

It wasn’t until she called that I started feeling very sad and very alone. This friend I have from college; she’s a school friend too and she’s as boring as I am but the point where she is at an advantage is that she has a boyfriend and they are really good together (not all high-school relationships last for 5 years) and Β she can at least talk to someone when the clock hits 12:00.

So she called me around 9:00 asking what was I doing.
“Oh, you mean besides laying in my bed with ear-phones on and staring at the ceiling? Nothing,” I said.
She smirked. We talked for a while and after we hung up I paused the music and just lay there. Staring at the ceiling. I know, I’m a creep. (Don’t press the unfollow button, please?)

It’s the same every year. My parents go to sleep at 10:00. And as usual I’m awake as I don’t sleep at night-LITERALLY. Sometimes, if I feel very daring I open the television and watch the fireworks as New Year hits the different time zones in the world. And then I realize my presence. A geeky girl snuggled in pillows and blankets, in her batman PJ’s; eating soup and watching people party.

Honestly, I don’t even know why I’m writing this. We’re an hour away from 2015. My parents are asleep. And as usual, it’s dead quiet, and I can hear occasional screams from inebriated boys outside (part of the reason why I’m not allowed to go out on New Years eve) and I’m typing this wondering how many people are doing the same right now.

10888420_815514725173729_7328775407510461062_n

Anyway. I know it’s a very merry and exuberant time Β and I’m really sorry if you were in your full spirits and opened WordPress to check your blog notifications before leaving for a party and you read this and now I injected a little pessimism in you. I’m incredibly sorry-please close WordPress and go party like an animal! πŸ˜€

So a very Happy, prosperous and a luminous New Year to all of you. It’s been an incredible year for me with numerous ups and downs and I can only hope that this year marksΒ a positive first step to the journey I’m going to embark.

Happy New Year guys!

Cheers.

36 thoughts on “2015!

    • I’m the most intense and perhaps the most alarming form of an introvert. πŸ˜› My introversion is of such atrocious intensity that it is somewhat contagious. πŸ˜›

      A very Happy New Year to you too! Go and have fun! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I hope you find somebody like you. There must be people out there who are exactly the same as you( I hope). You just need to find them. But if you’re happy with the way you’re then it’ll not be a big deal even in the long run.
        Besides, we’re friends already so you got an “introvert” friend there.haha!

        Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree! I have a fiance`but at the moment we are in two different places. Therefore, for New Years I was was not all cuddle-bugged, and when the clock struck 12am New Years Day I was not turning up bottles in any club. I was neatly tucked in my bed with a book and blog drafts. I was content with that and New Years kiss over the Verizon airwaves. Welcome to 2015!

      Nevertheless, I love this post!

      Naddie β™₯

      Liked by 2 people

      • I think neatly snuggled in blankets with a good book in hand is not a very bad celebration! πŸ˜€
        Congratulations on your engagement. ❀

        Thank you so much for visiting.
        Happy New Year to you as well. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hey magical writer,
    True that:))
    People just need a reason to celebrate and 31st december is one among them:P:D.

    You are what you are
    Words lighter
    Writing brighter
    A true writer:)

    Wish you a happy new year writer:)))

    Cheers!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this! You don’t have to party or even do anything special to observe the holiday. And you’re not pessimistic! You’re just working through your emotions in words, which is super cool to watch – keep it up. Happy 2015 to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your post made me smile! πŸ™‚ I am not going out either, not because I don’t like to party , but because of roughly these reasons
    – It is damn cold in San Francisco to be outside at midnight πŸ˜›
    – I am a early sleeper, and start yawning around 10, I can stretch my limit sometimes, but not when the day after is weekday 😦
    – I love to dance, but my husband don’t.
    – I don’t drink, and after a while when everyone is drunk and in different state of mind, I remain sensible and others seems irritating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your reasons are absolutely apt and it doesn’t matter if you’re partying on New Years eve or not. It’s what you really feel on the inside that counts. πŸ™‚
      Like for me, instead of being happy and thrilled I’m kind of freaked out that it is 2015 and an entire year has passed and I’m one step closer to being an adult (which practically I already am) but still. Okay, I’m freaking out again. How do you adults even manage it? :\

      Anyway,

      A very Happy New Year to you! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  4. We survived another round on this wet rock as it goes around a ball of fire! Funny thing is that technically the Earth isn’t even reaching the same place around the sun, since a year is actually approximately 365 days, 5 hours, 48 minutes, and 46 seconds. My family spent 4 hours deciding on a movie to watch to celebrate. We’ve been involved in a court case since January of last year, so 2014 wasn’t a ‘great year’ if we tried to label it. But why label a year? It doesn’t cleanly define when a ‘good’ or ‘bad’ phase ends. That’s my two cents. Oh, nice PJ’s πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

