Myths

My mom is busy roasting some puffed rice in the Kadhai for the evening snack and tea is broiling on the next stove. The smell of ginger and cardamom lingered in the air and in I went all gliding and locking and popping to the song playing from the earphones in my ears. I take a handful of puffed rice and I’m about to pop them into my mouth when my mom roars,
“Stop! How many times do I have to tell you? DON’T EAT DIRECTLY FROM A VESSEL!” 
I frown, “Mom, for the 100th time there’s no such thing as …”
“I said NO! Put it back.”
I sigh in surrender and put the goddamn puffed rice back. Take it again,put it in a plate and THEN eat it.

Now let me explain you the logic behind this.

According to the plethora of seemingly infinite myths that India harbors, this one means that if you eat directly from a deep vessel, IT WILL RAIN HEAVILY ON YOUR WEDDING.
 This is one out of a repository of incidents that I’ve explained. I don’t at all understand the concept of myths. First question, who was the person who had the sweet time to sit and make all of these. Second, how on Earth can people believe in them? These things are totally NOT backed by logic.

I was talking to an Irish girl once (don’t ask me how or when but I just was). So we talked about superstitions for a while and she told me some of the Irish Myths:

1.) A dead hand is believed to be a cure for all diseases. Many times sick people were brought to a house where a corpse was laid out, so that the hand of the dead might be laid on them.

2.) A crowing hen, a whistling girl, and a black cat are considered very unlucky. Beware of them in a house.

3.) If chased at night by a ghost or an evil spirit, try to get to a stream of running water. If you can cross it no devil or evil spirit will be able to follow. (Chased by a spirit-that’s a comforting thought.)

4.) Do not turn off a light while people are at supper. If you do there will be one less at the table before the year is out. (This is starting to creep me out).

5.) If your ears are burning, someone is gossiping about you. (Interesting)

6.) If you want to know the name of the person you are to marry, put a snail on a plate sprinkled with flour. Cover the plate and leave it overnight. In the morning the initial of the person will be on the plate, traced by the snail.

7.) Fairies live all over Ireland. The places they live are called forts, raths, or mounds. A fairy king rules each of these places. At times it is said you can hear sounds of music and merriment coming from the fairy places. (Fairies? I think I’m shifting to Ireland.)


 

You think these are spooky? Wait until you read some Indian ones:

1.) If a crow comes to your roof and caws, you can expect some visitors.

2.) If dogs near you are howling in the night, it is a signal of death.

3.) Never cut your nails at night. (I have never got the answer for this)

4.) There is a concept called ‘Evil Eye’ and elders in India often use things like ‘Kajal‘ to protect their new born from the evil eye. The effects of the evil eye may range from illness to death.

5.) Peepal and Banyan trees are considered to be the abode of the witches and thus should be avoided at night.

6.) Broken mirrors and broken God idols are the worst form of bad luck.

8.) You cannot buy iron/ eat meat/ cut your hair or trim your fingernails on some days of the week.

9.) If you or someone around you sneezes while you’re about to go somewhere (work, party) it is considered a very bad omen. You must wait for 5 minutes and then leave.

10.) If a black cat crosses your path, it is very unlucky.

Now when my mom chides me thinking that it would rain on my wedding I say, “Mom, how cool would it be? I’d love to kiss my ‘to-be’ husband in the rain.”
And I get a dead stare in return.

Note: I don’t mean to offend either of the cultures by this post. These are my personal opinions and as much as I doubt the authenticity of myths, I find them equally fascinating. 
Any Irish reading thisI love your country and your accent, really. 😛
Any Indian reading this- Aapne to suna hi hoga upar likha sab kuch. 😉
35 thoughts on “Myths

  1. Here in Canada people are not fond of walking under ladders, and the same black cat crossing your path as you have is considered unlucky here also (so that one’s international), and most of our older buildings lack a 13th floor since 13 was considered to be an unlucky number (the floors are numbered 11, 12, 14). Then, just when we were getting over this superstition, and the new buildings were once again adding 13th floors, the primary real estate buyers, or enough of them, switched over to the Asian market, and since 4 sounds like the Chinese word for “death” (or something to that effect) and the Chinese people wouldn’t buy condos on the 4th floor, the newer buildings stopped having 4th floors. Some buildings here in Vancouver have neither a 4th floor nor a 13th floor making a 25-story building only 23 stories high. And it really should be considered that we’re not talking the Middle Ages, but present times, and we’re not talking uneducated peasants ruled by Robber Barons, but Architects, and people successful enough in modern life to be buying multi-million dollar condos. This tells me that superstitions, and the power of myths knows no social or educational boundaries, and this probably means, they’ll be with us forever my friend, so we might as well just get used to them. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Here in India we regard the number 3 as unlucky, although this does not apply to our buildings.

      Incidentally, I happened to visit my friend today who has her apartment on the 3rd floor. And well, I’m typing this right now so that means I’m alive. Yaay! 😛

      You’re absolutely right with that point. Myths and superstitions plant their seeds in our mind and we surprisingly always follow them due their formidable nature.

      But again, I have to agree. Even though I might call myself a ‘modern’ girl free from the shackles of ‘myths’ and’folklore’ and ‘dark magic’ but I still wait for a while if someone sneezes at my departure.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Not walking under ladders, not doing the laundry on New Years Day and saluting magpies to avoid bad luck are 3 of many that i’m aware of from my part of England. One day a friend of mine laughed at me for not walking under a ladder and he was promptly hit on the head by a brush that the window cleaner using the ladder had dropped. Very funny! The Indian and Irish ones are interesting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh wow I’m surprised. I didn’t know England had superstitions too! I can’t even remember how many times I’ve walked under a ladder. :\

      Lol. Your friend got some taste of ‘karma’ there, if you know what I mean. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very funny and enjoyable post 🙂 Here in Uruguay, besides broken mirrors, evil eye, and other stuff, there is also a local myth. There is a tree called Aruera, which is poisonous: touching its leaves can cause rashes and other uncomfortable skin problems. Nothing serious, but annoying. According to the legend, Aruera was a beautiful indigenous lass who was time and again deceived by her lovers. One day, she died because of her bitterness and was reincarnated in the tree, still carrying the poison of her heart, and taking revenge on anyone who lies under her shadow. So, to avoid the effects of her poison, one should salute the tree when passing by interchanging the time of the day, tricking her. For instance, if you come by an Aruera tree during the day, you should say: “Good night, Mrs. Aruera”. And vice versa, if it is during the night, you should say “Good day, Mrs. Aruera”. Surprisingly, I once stumbled upon an Aruera in a park (how can someone plant a poisonous tree in a public park, I don’t know). Defiant and playful, I didn’t salute her, but nothing happened… Maybe that time I caught her sleeping? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. 🙂 That’s the most interesting myth I’ve heard so far. So people really salute when they pass by an Aruera tree? That’s interesting. Why do they have to change the time? I don’t understand. Mrs. Aruera has a knack for defying time, I guess. 😛
      Has anyone you know got sick by touching its leaves?
      Wait, you have the ‘evil-eye’ and ‘broken mirrors’ stuff too?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well… I don’t really know if people do salute the tree nowadays, but it is surely part of local folklore. I live in the capital, but maybe in the countryside they still do the salutation thing. Next time I go somewhere there I promise to look into it and tell you 🙂 The reason for changing the time eludes me, too. Maybe Aruera has a rebellious spirit 😛
        Nobody that I know of personally was ill after touching its leaves, but then, it is not so common a tree. I have seen pictures of pretty awful rashes caused by Aruera, though.
        Yes, here we have the ‘evil eye’ myth, the one about the dogs howling in the night, the ears burning when someone is speaking about you, the black cat being a bad omen, the ladder one… and the same as in India, the worst is the broken mirror, because it means like 10 years (I think) of bad luck. That’s a tough one!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I used to keep a black kitten as pet when I was at college… it didn’t bring any bad luck to anyone who loved her… instead she scratched the hell out of a guy who was trying to sneak into our room, probably as a prank… good days those were with the black cat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not really a cat person but I feel bad for black cats, they must feel so avoided and restrained and feared. I wish they’d understand it’s the humans who are at wrong, not them kittens .:\

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lol! Your mom sounds funny( in a good way).

    I try to wear black so when a black cat sees me and I hiss at them, they run away and hopefully have a bad day!

    “You cannot buy iron/ eat meat/ cut your hair or trim your fingernails on some days of the week.” that’s got to be a a killer for you. Maybe, that’s why you hate long fingernails because a lot of people believe in that.

    What’d you say in Indian? For goodness sake, speak English!!! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • She kinda is funny (except for when she’s angry-then she becomes female Sauron). Lol. 😛

      You know you don’t need to wear black to scare cats or people off. You yourself are enough for that. Just be your natural self-you’ll be JUST fine. 😛

      No, the soul reason I don’t like long nails is because they’re unhygienic and exasperating. Yeah, it is annoying for the non-vegetarians here in India. There are DAYS fixed for eating and not eating meat or buying iron.

      HA.HA.HA.HA-THAT IS A SECRET. Only Indians will know it. 😛 XD

      Like

      • Yeah, kind of like you! 😛 Mother like daughter! Just imagining you two fighting against each other and me eating popcorn from excitement of who will win the argument. 🙂

        I mostly wear black clothes anyway.

        So is that why a lot of people in India are vegetarians since they don’t even want to bother with it?

        Good thing for Google Translate if it’s right! “You must have heard everything written above.” Hahahaha!

        P.S. Actually, I just said that it was from Google Translate just to be polite and humble…I really am a genius and know a lot of languages. 😛

        Double P.S. I’m not a very good liar.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lol. You should see us when we fight. 😛 We practically raise hell and the argument never really leads to any solution. I’d appreciate if you get up and help sort the problem instead of eating pop corn. 😛

          OMG, I too wear black High-five! 😀

          No, that’s not the reason. We’re accustomed to the ‘DAYS’ thing. It’s mostly the religious norms and ‘Meat makes me wanna puke’ scenario that prevents people from eating.

          Oh, damn! I totally forgot about Google translator. 😛 Okay, you won this time. Yes, this is exactly what I said.

          Oh really? Since when did a mountain and cat become a genius? 😛

          Like

          • Uh, no! I don’t like to fight woman. Never get between a mother and her cub! I’m so brilliant!!! I’m going to call you that for a nickname, “bear cub.” 😛 That’s a keeper!

            Doesn’t surprise me that we are so alike! 🙂

            TMI! I didn’t need to have that. I just ate a huge doughnut this morning!

            Haha! I always manage to win, don’t I? 😛 Sometimes Google Translate is wrong.

            I should really change my profile pic. My uncle calls me incognito.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Hey, I should be annoyed at you but I like that name! 🙂

              No, you don’t ALWAYS win. -__-

              Oh yes, I noticed you did change your gravatar! Happy New Year my friend. 😀

              Like

              • Cool cub! 🙂

                Hey, it’s way better than your name not spelled correctly and the other nickname I was going to give you. It’s kind of like how people call their friends, “cat.” Just I can’t call you that since I’m your cat.

                Yes, I do! Of course I will admit that sometimes I have a twisted memory. 😛

                My arm is kind of contorted.

                Still have a lot more hours to go before it’s the new year for me!

                Liked by 1 person

  6. So my friend has a nickname of “cub” for you. Weird, isn’t it? Pardon me for slightly looking at your conversations. 🙂

    Anyway, I love this post! Those are a lot of weird myths. I never believe in these kinds of things to be true. The myth of “Peepal and Banyan trees are considered to be the abode of the witches and thus should be avoided at night” was especially funny and weird!

    “Never cut your nails at night” is definitely wrong. I always cut my nails at night…not dead yet. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s okay. You can read our conversations. It’s mostly just me pulling Steve’s leg and embarrassing him and him being able to do nothing about it. 😛
      I never believe in myths as well. They’re just stupid and irrational.

      I too cut my nails at night. I’m alive as well. Yaay. 😛 Although I read on the internet that we aren’t allowed to trim our nails at night because if by chance we cut ourselves, a demon might attack us due to blood. Don’t mean to scare you sorry. 😛

      But this again is absurd.

      Like

      • That’s not how he sees it…he thinks he’s winning the battle. You two should talk about that and figure that out!

        Lol! I believe in demons…my two girlfriends ago (now my ex) was definitely one. She had kind of long-fingernails. Hmm… I get nightmares just thinking about her. I’m definitely attracted to witty and sarcastic girls but some of them can also be smart-asses. Don’t take offense, I’m not calling you one. That relationship wasn’t going to work anyway. I could rant all day about her and Stephen has heard so much about her. He didn’t mention my girlfriends, right?

        Like

  7. Whoa that is really interesting!! As an American, I grew up thinking most of our superstitions are simply the black cat crossing your path or walking under a ladder (yet I do have a black cat, but she has some white in her fur! I have no idea if that counts……). But, I have never heard of not cutting your nails at night! I’d be interested to know each countries individual myths and their origins.

    By the way, Steve the man sent me here, he said I would really like your blog and I do! 🙂 You’ve got a new follower out of me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi there,
      thank you for taking the time to visit. 🙂
      Yes, every country has their own fair share of myths, superstitions and folklore and they have reasons backing these fallacies as well, which makes me reckon if they’re apocryphal.

      Anyway. Yes, we aren’t allowed to cut out fingernails at night (although I do) 😛
      Again, thank you for visiting, I’ll thank Steve later. 🙂

      Like

What are your thoughts?

