Would You Press ‘DELETE?’

I’m just going to let you all know some of my personal fantasies or rather daydreams. But I’d like to warn you that I think about the weirdest things you could possibly imagine. But I’m also pretty sure you all will be forced to relate to it.

Each one of us has gone through troubled times, the kind of times when you’re standing on the edge of a cliff and summoning the courage to jump or sometimes when you’ve felt an intense angst of pain or betrayal or worse, hopelessness. Times when you lost someone you loved to death or maybe that someone left you all alone. Prolonged days when you’ve felt cast out, swaying wildly in the thunderous gushing, freezing ocean waters. If you’re one of us, then you have all my love and empathy and I promise you things will get better.

I was really sad a couple of days before, so after I completed my cycle of crying and lying down quietly, a thought occurred to me. What if I was given a machine that deleted memory? Not a big, gigantic pomp but just a small one-like the one from Men In Black. But the only difference would be that you could delete parts of the memories that you’d like to be gone. All the painful occurrences that you wished had never happened.

I thought about it for a while and it seemed tempting. Something troubling you? *Presses Delete Button* -GONE! You can continue your life like it never happened. A smile crept my face when I wondered of all the memories I could erase, all the sadness I could be spared from.

But it vanished just as easy. This another thought occurred to me. Although, I wondered, the idea of clearing away your pain might feel very precise at the moment, but I believe memories, both sad and good, are essential for life. They are just as important as your limbs and senses.

Without bad memories you won’t ever learn a lesson. You’ll be devoid of ‘EXPERIENCE’ which is a valuable teacher. So you need both ‘good’ and ‘bad’ to balance the equation of life. You wouldn’t ever know what love is until you’ve been betrayed and shattered by someone. You won’t know who a ‘great friend’ is until you’ve met the wrong ones. So basically you don’t know what a purely ripe Peach tastes like until you’ve tried a few bad ones.

It’s completely natural to say, ‘I want to forget this person/memory/thing.’ You want to run away from it, you want to hide, you want it to stop haunting you, but what I say is, derive a lesson from it and move on. Let every bad memory be a reason to have good ones.

So as I crawled up from the migraine of gloom I taught myself that every memory is important. It doesn’t matter if it’s happy or sad-it plays a vital role in pruning you according to the garden of life. If you remove the sad and dark parts from a movie, you’ll end up with a distorted, confusing and a spoiled film devoid of a ‘real story’ which won’t make any sense. Keep every scene intact and sooner or later you’ll realize why every bit of it was required.

So sit back, have a cup of coffee, read a good book and watch your life play before your eyes. Embrace it, learn from the bad things, appreciate the good things and most important of all-Keep Going!

680f1f8cc659ab1734ef1543bcbf240b

 

Picture Courtesy: http://www.pinterest.com/

To all the Americans,
Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

Oh and yes- Here’s a shout-out to the sweetest and currently a very good friend of mine Stephen, check out his blog, he’s got everything covered under one roof! 🙂
P.s- He’s a mutant, so be a little careful. XD

18 thoughts on “Would You Press ‘DELETE?’

  1. Sunshine of the spotless mind always makes me ask myself that question: would I delete the memories if I could? You’re absolutely right in your post but you’ve got to admit that, at times, it would be very tempting!

    Like

  2. No, I wouldn’t delete bad memories either because most of my bad memories are related to stuff I’ve done badly and behaviours that were wrong. If I deleted them I’d have to go through all that stuff again to learn to be less of an idiot – learning to be less of an idiot is a painful process that I wouldn’t want to go through twice.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

