Winter Is Coming

christmas-house-snow-winter-Favim.com-282908

The volatile nature of the weather is ambiguously related to that of humans. Call it the comforting hum of a drizzle or the electric yellow of a bright sunny day. Weather, along with plenty of other stimulators , is a great catalyst to the sensitive human emotions. I’m taking my own example here, rainfall automatically forces me to ponder. Think. Think so much that I start to get worried. And then I get into a bad mood. Silly, maybe?

I’ve asked plenty of people about it. Each one of them had an entirely different interpretation regarding the weather. Some said spring made them lazy (I have no idea how). If I become selfish and talk about myself here (which I will) winters make me happy. I know, it’s weird. But there is this cold, damp, smoothness about winters that captivates my emotions and lifts up the mood.

I anxiously wait for winters to come. For the dry earth to moisten by the soft drizzles and later transform into a bedspread of white pearly snow although I haven’t seen or felt snow (it doesn’t snow here) but my imagination has done a commendable job in making making me experience it.

The warmth of christmas always ready to comfort the cold dry steams of human breath, in this misapprehended weather. Everything has a refuge, in the sombre snug winters. A cup of hot chocolate, in a warm blanket, near a fire place, in the middle of the night. Doesn’t that sound magically tempting?

Warm_Winter_Beats__2_-753

Winters give a pause to the rush of the turbulent human routine. When we don’t have time to stop! Look around. Appreciate the small little things in life. This weather gives us a chance. A chance to live with the gifts we were bestowed with i.e Love. Joy. Elation. Winters makes us realize the lushness of the greenery and appreciate its value as well.

How we miss the pastures!
How we miss the trees!
It makes us love the peaceful nature.
Bestowed with miracles, indeed!

Winter give ways to new beginnings. New ambitions. New emotions. A new year. They mold us and prepare us for the hardships of life- at the same time reminding us that it’s all worth it!

Giving away the philosophical aura, winters have always lulled me into an overwhelming embrace, softly swaying me in a warm infinity. They have always been a friend to me, reviving me, enthralling me and inspiring me towards the thought that it doesn’t matter if you’re cold or white or copious, you’re always beautiful. There’s always someone who’s relying on every little inch of you. That, my friend, is what this season means to me.

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.”
― John SteinbeckTravels with Charley: In Search of America

 

“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says “Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.”
― Lewis CarrollAlice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

8 thoughts on “Winter Is Coming

  1. This was EXACTLY how i feel about winters too! (though i probably wouldn’t have been able to describe it so perfectly)
    Despite the cold, cracked lips and the never-ending sniff, i still do love this season. My first vivid childhood dream was of snow (never seen it in real life either) and i especially love the mornings when my words actually take physical form as the warm breath hits the cool air

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww. Thank you sweet girl. 🙂

      My love for this season has been insatiable throughout. Although I was born in summers I never actually quite liked it the way I waited and later rejoiced each and every day of those chilling, snuggle winters.

      Thank you for reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah winter. My favorite season as well! There are so many reasons why I like winter. I was going to enumerate them here but I’ve decided that I’ll write a separate post for it tomorrow, because my love of winter gives insight in to deeper chasms of my personality!

    I love the way you’ve described it, I can almost feel what you feel. This post has made me even more excited for the long awaited arrival of winter in our part of the world!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel ya girl. Go ahead and pour your heart out. I’ll be waiting for your post! 😀

      Winter has almost placed its footsteps here. We can hear the intensified tapping as it marches its way in our country, anxiously waiting until the final knock on our door! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Winter’s my second favourite season (after spring, cuz my bday comes then 😉 )… but you do make it sound ‘magically tempting’ !! ..
    You do have a way with your words, and that’s why I love to keep reading 🙂
    Keep writing..

    Like

    • That is such a nice thing to say. Haha! Thank you so much.
      I’m happy I made you love and appreciate winters. But be careful it can be pretty tricky when it comes to flu. Winter is a pretty friend-you need to concentrate on the rose petals rather than the thorns. 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading and keep coming back 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Sweater Weather | Brooding In The Tepid Dusk.

What are your thoughts?

