Oh C’mon! Be a Girl!

I go to this really cool store that sells these realllyyyyy cool fandom t-shirts that you’re gonna die if you see. I pick one ‘Batman’ t-shirt. It has a big and angry batman face over it and I’m about to turn around to show it to my friend when she says “Oh C’mon Aakansha! Be A Girl!”

I look around awkwardly, clearly incredulous. THIS particular statement is not new to me. People have said it so many times that now I’m kinda immune to it.

‘Aakansha..wear more colors. Don’t just stick to black all the time.’
‘Aakansha ..buy heels and dresses..Be A Girl.’
‘Aakansha..stick your head in a dustbin .. Be A Girl.’

I go to lots of parties with my friends..hang out almost every other day and there is a lot of versatility in my group of five. I wear t-shirt, there’s a girl who has never worn a t-shirt, two boys who don’t give a crap about what they wear (that’s why I love boys) and another girl (my bestie) who’s just like me.

There are two other girls who used to hang out with us. They too have never worn a t-shirt and think of it as something lame people wear. Someone who doesn’t know how to dress up. They look at me differently. Like if I don’t dress up I’m somewhat inferior to them.

The thing is I too love all these things, every girl does. But I’m not crazy and maniacally retarded about all this. I don’t go yelling inside a store ‘OMG! New Shoes!’ .. ‘OMG! New Dress!’ and I certainly don’t judge people based on what they wear. I’d prefer a Game Of Thrones t-shirt over a new dress ANY DAY.

(Is there anyone who watches Game of Thrones here?)

I love that store. I mean trust me, I could spend my entire life there. It is all decorated with these really cool posters of all the superheroes, bands and star wars merchandise. It’s so hysterically awesome I start drooling every time I pass by it. There are Batman flip-flops and Flash PJ’s. OMG. ❤

“But Aakansha, guys don’t like girls like that”

“Well fine by me! I don’t prefer a queue of boys waiting in line for my rejection. Someday there’ll be someone who’ll love my kind of girls and that person would be awesome.”

I cannot wear the kind of stuff they do. To be honest, I don’t even understand all that crap. Combining things-like matching neck-pieces and heels. It’s difficult and uncomfortable and confusing.

I’m 18. Just got into college. I just have 1 dress that is totally black which I bought for a fancy dress party as I was a witch and one pair of heels which I HAD to purchase for my farewell. I don’t own any other dress or heels or bags apart from it. There-I said it! I’m not ashamed of it.

I was talking to this one girl in my class when I was in 12th grade. I said I hadn’t bought any heels for the farewell. She said “Oh what’s the need to buy why don’t you just wear something you already have?”

“Umm, I don’t have any heels”

People, you should have seen her expression. She looked at me with eyes so wide it appeared as if they would pop out and start bouncing all around. It’s like I did some crime by not owning a pair of heels.

I have loads of shoes, sneakers and crocs. Loads of sweatshirts-LOADS of fandom and superhero t-shirts. And the one pair of heels I bought is still resting in its box and never saw daylight again.

My question is- Is it absolutely necessary to wear stilettos to clarify yourself as a girl? To fulfill the conditions on a checklist?

  • Bags-Check.
  • Shoes-Check.
  • Dress-Check
  • Eye-liner-Check.
  • Pout-Check.

Congratulations, you’re a girl.

It’s just WHO I AM. I like wearing t-shirts with my favorite prints and people and tv-shows and bands on it. I have a different personality. I don’t sit in a cafe with my friend and keep taking selfies because I dressed up good while my friend is busy talking to me trying to have a real conversation (Yep, this has happened to me).

I don’t go crazy if I don’t have ANYTHING to wear to a party. I don’t go and scavenge every market and store before I find ‘The Perfect Dress.’ I don’t wear make-up everyday. I have NEVER made a pout in any of my pictures. I don’t go around indirectly singing how perfect or beautiful I am while pretending to be modest because, in all honesty I’M NOT. I’m flawed and I won’t transform myself into a society that forces us to mold into the puppets it wants us to become.

I’m not claiming that those kind of girls are bad or idiots. But I face this everyday. I have this Eminem t-shirt with his face on it and one girl comes to me and says “Iski shirt dekho” (Look at her shirt). It’s just not fare to girls like us.

Reading books makes me a geek. Not dressing up makes me a nerd or a person with no sense of fashion. Not buying dresses makes me ‘Not A Girl.’

I wanted to write about this since a long time. It’s just frustrating although it doesn’t bother me anymore. I’m gonna buy those Flash PJ’s anyway. 😀 😀

 

whitch one tomboy or girly girl

 

12 thoughts on “Oh C’mon! Be a Girl!

  1. I’m totally a girly girl. But I don’t think girls aren’t feminine if they want to wear tshirts and sneakers. Heck, I fully support nerdy stuff too! Just yesterday I got a cute hair bow that has Star Wars stuff all over it. I guess for me, its a game how I can look super girly and still incorporate my geeky attire. xD

    Like

  2. Wow. I feel like there’s some supernatural alternate universe thing going on and I’m you and you’re me but at the same time, we aren’t the same. Okay, I’ve now confused myself as well.

    This is what girls say to me: “Ye dupatta nai leti. Pentain pehnti hai larkon ki tarha. Kameez shalwar nai pehnti. Kharab larki hai.” I’m like: “Acha bhai theek hai aap pehno apnay FROCKS, mein kharab hi theek hun.” -_-

    Anyway, I WANT TO GO TO THAT STORE! Is there an online version of the store? DO THEY SHIP INTERNATIONAL? There are stores like that here but the printing sucks and the designs are usually copied off the net!

    Do they have Metallica fandom shirts? Linkin Park? Evanescence? True Blood? Eeeeeekkkk *goes crazy*

    Like

    • “Pentain pehnti hai larkon ki tarha” HAHAHAH. LOL. 😛

      OMG. Raiha, you’re going to go retarded after seeing that store. TRUST ME. I don’t know if they ship online, but there are plenty of sites that do. Try searching it I’m sure you’ll find it.

      If I don’t get any of my fandom t-shirt here, I order it online.

      Metallica, Nirvana, John Lennon, Beatles, LP-YOU NAME IT.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think boys do care about what they wear too. The truth is unless they wear something really torn or too categorical feminine they won’t be bashed about it. Women in all communities are bashed for wearing even the wrong kind of religious clothes to even what can be “normal” to wear. I face this too about guys not liking me. Many guys don’t actually though I pretty much wear what desi girls are supposed to wear. Men are harder to please than women at times. They want everything: really bitchy-naughty personality, comfortable curves aka thin as a stick, not too tall than them, not too intelligent than them, not too what not than them, very fashion conscious and all that. I know guys are not inherently like this but guess what they are trained to be like this and it is very unnatural and kind of sad.

    “Well fine by me! I don’t prefer a queue of boys waiting in line for my rejection. Someday there’ll be someone who’ll love my kind of girls and that person would be awesome.”

    That is true. But why is it we all seek the validation of males and men hardly do anything for our validation? Why is women so easily an other seeking approval? Sometimes, many heroes, prophets and leaders did things that were not ethically controversial but not approved off but they won in the end. Staying true to you should be the best thing that you do.

    Like

    • “Staying true to you should be the best thing that you do.”

      That’s the point of this entire post. I too agree by what you said. Sometimes boys can be fussy about minuscule things that we girls don’t think are worth noticing.
      And it’s true they too search everything in a girl but the thing is (and it’s my personal experience) if we keep dating and other factors aside boys don’t usually see how a girl dresses up when looking for friendship.

      They don’t care unless they want something more than friendship. They are reckless and rogue-one factor I love the most about about them because I too am reckless.

      I too concur that we do not need the approval of boys to feel or look beautiful or to be accepted in the society. That is a different point of debate, but the line you quoted was my reasonable answer for the question that my friend popped. The ‘So-Called’ very important part of a teens life.

      I totally agree by your opinions. They’re very true and strong.
      Thank you for reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You need no encouragement from the likes of me, but here it is anyway. Please don’t change. Be whatever girl it is you want to be, because you exude an adventurous, creative and individual spirit that is so often suppressed by a society with very fixed ideas about gender. But the one thing you must promise to be is a writer – for you are doing a fine job of that.

    Keep up the great work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This comment seriously made my day. Appreciation and encouragement coming from every direction and any person is treasured by me. Thank you so much.I don’t let society shackle me in its fixed notions on how a particular gender should behave or act. That’s why I’m the girl you’re currently reading the writing of. 😀

      I promise I’ll be a writer, would not leave that for anything in this world.
      Your kind words mean a lot.

      Thank you. 🙂

      Like

  5. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog.
    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged
    me to get my very own site now 😉

    Like

What are your thoughts?

