Faith vs Superstition

So it happened like this:

Me and my best friend were in one of those ‘late-night-conversations’ (and by late night I mean 4 am in the morning). Bring those eyebrows down; it’s very common for us to talk this late and we never run out of topics. Usually it’s one of those ‘what’ll happen 10 years from now’ kind of chats. We both get really emotional and most of the time it ends up with me assuring him that he wouldn’t lose me even if some guy comes later in my life.

But apart from the sappy teddy bears we are we’re also great debaters (actually, he’s better) but every time we raise a debatable topic we have a pretty fruitful conversation that ends up with us either not talking to each other or with a mutual agreement with the topic OR calling a third person and settling the dispute between us before there occurs a bloodshed.

That night we were talking about ‘Superstition’ and ‘Faith.’

“Aakansha, what are your thoughts on God?” he asked me.

“I believe in a higher power regardless of how people might ‘tag’ it. Some call it Jesus, some Shiva, Some Allah. It doesn’t matter how you picture it but I believe there’s something always watching us and guiding us throughout. Something bigger and mightier and powerful in every aspect. Something beyond the mortal grasp.” I said.

You see he’s an atheist. He doesn’t believe in any sort of God. Something happened in his life that forced him to stick to that notion. Anyway.

“I won’t argue with that thought but I think it’s all just bullsh*t. No one has seen him, no one has felt him-hell they can’t even picture him in unison and they say he’s protecting us, loving us-dumbas*es. Thousands and lakhs of rupees are spent on decorating and maintaining these stupid idols of those trillion forms of Gods. So much money is spent on so called worshiping them and impressing them. The Hindu temples offer milk and sweets to statues made of sand and clay.

They claim to eradicate poverty but are spending fortunes on things that ultimately go in the dump. Over 50% of the Indian population is starving and homeless. Instead of ‘impressing’ those Gods they could friking donate and help these people.”

Honestly, I agreed to what he said.

“Look,” I said “I understand and I completely agree. It cannot be denied that people are wasting both money and material on things that are trivial. I don’t believe in idol worship. I don’t believe in the innumerable superstitions that Hindu mythology harbors.

  • You don’t wake up every morning and pray to God and light incense and offer fruits you won’t be blessed.
  • You don’t remember all the various ‘Aartis’ of the Goddesses you won’t be blessed.
  • Go to the temple every Monday.
  • Fasting to prove your loyalty to your God.

I don’t even want to take the time to mention all of them.

Anyway. The thing is, you don’t have to go to extreme levels to impress statues made of clay. You don’t have to keep yourselves hungry to prove your love for someone. You sure as hell don’t have to spend millions on organizing ‘Kathas’ for Gods. You want to feel secure? Are you afraid who you’re gonna turn up to in times of need?

Just have faith. There’s not a thin but a very wide line that separate the two. Have faith in times of adversity that things will get better. Faith and hope are perhaps the only two things stronger than fear. I have been lucky enough to literally experience miracles, situations like ‘Holy crap did this even happen?!’ (in a very good sense). The so called ‘Gods’ job is to make you feel that you’re not alone and give you strength. There’s no point in worshiping if you still feel hollow inside like a chestnut shell.

No point in showing people that you’re a religious person. All you gotta do is believe. Faith is an important virtue to sustain life. You cannot live without the hope that better things are waiting. Because normally you might be independent of any sorts of dependence. But when life hits you hard you hold on to the last leaf. The last strand of straw in the gushing, thunderous ocean. THAT  is when you need faith. That is when you look around for hope and find it in the most unforeseen places  and THAT is when you actually find faith offering you its hands.”

Analogically speaking: “Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” -Roald Dahl.

He was silent for awhile then said, “God, you’re so boring but I’m impressed.”

“Shut up a**hole. You asked for it.”

“Lol. On a serious note, I think that makes perfect sense. I hope I can find faith in the most unexpected corners of the world. Until then, I have you.”

“We should go to sleep now. It’s late” I lied.

“Yeah.”

“Yeah.”

And we hung up. For the record, I couldn’t sleep and neither could he.

24 thoughts on “Faith vs Superstition

  1. Aww, best friends calling each other names, cute. 😛

    Faith is a really powerful thing, yes. And it’s great that you have some, even after your friend’s logical argument — but one thing, his tone, calling you boring, and those with faith “dumbasses”, that wasn’t very open-minded.

    I might be stepping on stones a bit, but there is a real difference in who you worship. There is a difference between Jesus, Allah, and Shiva, and there is a huge difference between worshiping God, and worshiping idols/clay statues — which were obviously man-made, so I can see his point that it could be a waste of money.

    But faith, that is something so profound, but many people like your friend don’t notice. Once again, it depends on where you place your faith — idols, humanity, “science”, or God, and which god for that matter. Being a Christian, I see faith as something pretty foundational.

    But I don’t know what else to say. Heh, I’d like to see how you’ve been changed after that phone call. 😛

    Like

    • Yeah, I understand but I don’t mind him saying that you know. Not because he’s my best friend but because life did something really brutal to him and his family that I have absolutely no consolation for, no rational reason to explain why it happened. All I know is that day changed him completely and made him the atheist he is today. :/

      About the *dumbasses* thing well he said it in the spur of the moment as he was furious. You see he’s a political guy, means he someday intends to get into Indian politics (which is despicable if I may inform you) so it’s just a difficult for him to see people wasting resources on futile things.

      About the faith thing-Yeah I do rebuke him for that. Faith is absolutely necessary and he doesn’t have any. He believes in Karma and only karma-No destiny or anything or belief or anything. And I wholeheartedly agree with the faith point. It depends on where you choose to put your faith in. It might be a ‘Lucky Ring’ or a ‘Lucky Sweater’ or an idol for all we care.

      I didn’t understand what you meant with that last line? *__*

      Like

      • Hehe lucky sweater. My little brother would be quick to believe something like that — but, he looks at too many cartoons that have those episodes.

        My the last line, I meant since neither of you could sleep, you probably had something on your mind about the conversation.

        Like

        • Did I tell you I love cartoons too? Sometimes I think I’m a wrong soul trapped in a wrong body. A blunder on God’s part.

          Oh, yeah. I don’ about him but I was disturbed about the fact that he didn’t have faith. That’s it. And I was hungry. 😛

          Liked by 1 person

          • Nothing’s too bad about liking cartoons. I personally loved the older ones of the early 2000s. Times change though, so I stopped looking at them. Hehe, you think that because you watch cartoons?

            Well, there’s loads of people that don’t have faith. And hunger… you didn’t eat a snack or anything? 😛

            Like

              • “Fashioning swag” XD Teens are busy being mainstream, so you’re fine where you are kiddy 🙂

                Ahh, I know that feeling. But I’d never go hungry, I’d find something even if it involves a three-course meal at 3 in the morning.

                Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all, I really liked the theme of this post.It forced me to think and understand the difference about being faithful and being superstitious. I think the way you presented it was also wonderful to see with really good vocabulary as well. Keep writing and I’ll be waiting for your next posts. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much. I keep writing all the time-Lol. 😛
      So naturally my blog updates are pretty fast ..so you know..you won’t have to wait that much. Haha.
      Thank you for stopping by.
      Aakansha.

      Like

  3. I’m a new follower of yours and I’m reading some of your old posts and I found this conversation you and your friend had very interesting. I always love hearing different people’s perspectives on faith or whatever religion.

    I personally believe in one God who sent his son, Jesus Christ, down to earth to save me. I didn’t know this at first and I’ve always had a bad self-image and guilt for the things I’ve done but when I heard about Him, I realized that he was different then other religions and ways to feel better about yourself. I’ve been a Christ follower for ten years now and life hasn’t been better.

    Keep writing! You’re one of my favorite writers!

    Peace out!

    Steve

    Like

    • That’s really good that you have faith. 🙂 It keeps us intact when life offers stormy days.

      I believe in a higher power, as I stated above. And that keeps me sane and hopeful. I think it’s okay for people to follow any God they want, irrespective of their religion, beliefs, truth etc.

      Oh My Goodness! Am I? Really? This made my day. Thank you, you’re a bright source of encouragement my friend. 🙂

      Like

  4. Hello there! This post could not be written much better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward
    this information to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have
    a great read. I appreciate you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading
    it, you could be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and may come back down the road.
    I want to encourage you to continue your great work, have a nice weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is really fascinating, You are a very professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to in the hunt for more of your excellent post.

    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

    Like

What are your thoughts?

